Accessibility Tools

School Parliament

School Parliament Charter

The School Parliament will:

  •  promote the school Values of DARE (Determination, Achievement, Respect, Enjoyment)
  •  promote the school’s Virtues
  •  be a voice for every child in the school
  •  be an architect for change- to make school the best it can be for everyone to thrive
  •  promote the British value of democracy, ensuring compromise, consensus and that decisions are made and respected by the majority,
  •  Publish an annual intention the details how the parliament intends to support learning in the classroom, improve the school environment and make a difference to the community
Instrument of School Parliament membership

The instrument of the School Parliament is:

  • School Parliament will be chaired by the elected 2 Lead Ambassadors (Year 6), who will be supported by a member of the Senior Leadership Team
  • One child from each class annually (in September)
  • Candidates for Class Parliament member to complete a ‘Candidate Manifesto’ 
  • Elections for Class Parliament member will take place by use of a secret ballot
  • School Parliament will sit twice per term
  • A list of School Parliament members (and their photographs) will be displayed on the School Parliament noticeboard in school
  • The ‘Annual Intention’ will be published on the School Parliament noticeboard
  • Minutes from every meeting will be kept in the School Parliament file
  • School Parliament members, School Parliament Charter, Annual Intention will be published on the school website
Annual Intention

An annual intention will be written at the start of each year and about what will be achieved, why this has been chosen and how it will be done. The annual intention will define what is intended to:

  • support learning in the classroom
  • improve the school environment
  • make a difference to the community
School Parliament members

The School Parliament members for the current academic year are:-

Year 2 - Layla-Rae and Daisy-Mae
Year 3 - Olivia, Malak and Aisly
Year 4 - Amy and Abigail
Year 5 - Nehran and Lily
Year 6 - Ashton and Esme
Woodlands - Filip, Dean and Lyla


Our Address

Headlands Primary School
Bushland Road

Our Contact Points

Tel - 01604 407098

Awards and Partnerships

Proud to be part of